We’re open! When visiting, wear a mask covering both the nose and mouth, regardless of vaccination status, so we can assist you safely.
The Embry Hills Library will be closed Friday, January 28 and Saturday, January 29 due to staffing shortages.
The resources, books and websites recommended below primarily contain information about various aspects of health and wellness, including illnesses, treatments, drugs, nutrition and healthy living. Most books, DVDs or audiobooks in the Library are in the 610 – 619 call number range of the non-fiction section.
Alt HealthWatch focuses on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full-text content comes from more than 180 international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
Comprehensive consumer-oriented health information, including articles from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.
A service of the National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health, provides extensive information about prescription and non-prescription drugs, supplements, and common diseases and conditions. Includes a medical dictionary, directories for locating hospitals and doctors, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.
Articles from peer-reviewed native-Spanish medical journals on topics such as neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, hematology, etc.
Se puede usar MedlinePlus para aprender sobre los últimos tratamientos, buscar información sobre medicamentos o mirar los videos e ilustraciones. MedlinePlus tambiéncuenta con tutoriales interactivos de educación de salud, una enciclopedia médica, información sobre medicamentos de receta y venta libre y las últimas noticias de salud.
Contains the licensing background and disciplinary information of physicians and other health care practitioners. From Administrators in Medicine (AIM), the national nonprofit organization for state medical and osteopathic board executives.
The CDC is a major component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Topics on the CDC site include Diseases and Conditions, Emergencies and Disasters, Environmental Health, Healthy Living, Injury, Violence and Safety, Life Stages and Populations, Travelers’ Health, and more. Available also in Spanish plus many other languages.
What you need to know about prescription and over-the-counter drugs, including what drugs are right for your health issue, as well as information about safety and costs.
Public health resource for DeKalb County. Includes the capability to search for DeKalb County restaurants, hotels and swimming pools – and see the results on their latest Health Inspection Reports.
From the federal agency responsible for protecting public health. This is the first place to look for information about food and product recalls. Plus other information, such as generic equivalents for your prescriptions.
The Georgia agency that provides services to help families and individuals stay healthy and self-sufficient.
Information from the primary state agency that has the ultimate responsibility for the health of Georgia communities and the entire state population.
This site is coordinated by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It also includes dietary and physical activity guidelines.
Find out about private insurance plans and possible financial assistance available through the Health Insurance Marketplace. HealthCare.gov is a federal government website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Find information on how well hospitals care for patients with certain medical conditions. This site was created through the efforts of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), the Department of Health and Human Services, and others.
Includes lab test descriptions, screening guides and more. Organized by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC), this site is the product of a collaboration among professional societies representing the clinical laboratory community. Spanish-language version available plus other languages.
From the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research. The mission of the site is to provide useful and up-to-date information and tools that reflect the expertise and standard of excellence of Mayo Clinic.
From the United States Department of Agriculture, My Plate shows the five food groups that are the building blocks for a healthy diet using a familiar image — a place setting for a meal.
There are 21 health institutes and centers including the National Cancer Institute, National Institute on Aging, and the National Institute on Mental Health. Information on current medical research is found here.
Find information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety from various agencies of the U.S. federal government. Nutrition.gov is a service of the National Agricultural Library, Department of Agriculture.
The U.S. government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services.
The directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters. Also available in Spanish plus other languages.