Board of Trustees

Legally, DeKalb County Public Library is a state chartered governmental organization governed by a Board of Trustees. DCPL also operates as a Department of DeKalb County Georgia.

Trustees are appointed to public library boards to formulate policy, administer funds, and govern library service to the community. Trustees work for the betterment of the library system.

The governing body of DeKalb County Public Library is the Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees is composed of citizens from DeKalb County who are appointed by governmental agencies supporting the library on a regular basis.

The Board of Trustees approves library budgets and assumes responsibility for presenting the fiscal needs of the library system to funding agencies.

The Board of Trustees establishes policies for library services and programs, sets policies for receipt of gifts of money and property, and plans for long-range library development.

The Board of Trustees employs the Library Director and evaluates the performance of the Director. Authority for technical administration and supervision of the library system is vested in the Library Director.

The Library Board of Trustees normally meets during the months of January, March, May, July, August, October and December. The Board Chair presides.


Member Appointing Agency
Mr. Herbert McCoy (Co-Chair) DeKalb County
Ms. Carol Morgan (Co-Chair) City of Decatur
Mr. Joel Gottlieb (Treasurer) DeKalb County
Ms. Elizabeth Joyner DeKalb County
Dr. Curtis Clark DeKalb County
Ms. Valerie Boyd DeKalb County
Ms. Deborah Jackson DeKalb County
Carrie Armistead City of Doraville
Ms. Sara Fountain DeKalb County
Mr. Michael Thurmond ex officio DeKalb County
(Teen Representative, Vacant) DeKalb County
Mr. Jamil Zainaldin DeKalb County
Mr. Zachary Williams DeKalb County

2021 Schedule of Meetings:

Meeting Date Meeting Location Agenda
Monday, January 11 Library Administrative Center
(Board meeting is open to virtual public participation)
January Agenda
Monday, March 8 Zoom
(Board meeting is open to virtual public participation)
March Agenda
Monday, May 10 Zoom  
Monday, July 12 Zoom  
Monday, August 9 Zoom  
Monday, October 11 Zoom  
Monday, December 13 Zoom