Use the resources below to explore the world of art history. If you are interested in a particular artist or the art of a particular time period, look in the 700s of the non-fiction section for books and audiovisual materials.
Last updated: July 19, 2010
Photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other images include contemporary and historical photos of people, places and natural science.
Information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. The site includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and links to related Internet sites.
A compilation of resources related to art and art history created by Christopher L. C. E. Witcombe, Professor, Dept. of Art History at Sweet Briar College, Virginia.
A central site for art and architecture-related material on the Internet, it includes information on general resources and bibliographies, architecture resources, art/architecture programs and libraries, electronic exhibitions, image collections, museum listings, organizations, online journals and more.
Search the The Inventories of American Painting & Sculpture to find more than 400,000 artworks in public and private collections worldwide. Explore the collections at the various art museums that are part of the Smithsonian Institution. Or, learn how to find out more about the art you own.
A comprehensive and free image search on the web.
Part of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, this site includes timelines from 8000 b.c. to present arranged geographically. Key events and works of art are highlighted. Site also includes essays on artists and art in various contexts.