DeKalb County Public Library Team Wins Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl

The Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl is an annual statewide reading competition that is open to students in grades 4-12. Students are quizzed on Georgia Book Award Nominees and Georgia Peach Teen Book Award Nominees. On Saturday, January 26, DeKalb County Public Library competed with three teams in the levels of elementary, middle school and high school. The high school team won first place and will move on to the next round that will take place at Clayton State in two weeks. DCPL is the first public library to enter a team into the HRRB. Library staff who coached the teams include: Mia Manekofsky, Lauren Tennyson, Shelley Thompson, Jonathan Myers and Elizabeth Harris. Check out more information on the Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl here.