Subject Guide: Writing Resources

Do you want to improve your writing? Have you been assigned a paper to write? Not sure where to start? This subject guide has what you need.

Last updated: December 29, 2015

Databases

  • Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams based on official academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams. Includes preparation for the GED, SAT, GRE, U.S. Citizenship Test, and TOEFL.

Catalog Links

  • A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers
    by Kate L. Turabian

    The name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. The Manual [8th edition] retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. 

    Read more ...
  • The Chicago Manual of Style

    This 16th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style remains an authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. With the wisdom of a hundred years of editorial practice and a wealth of industry expertise from both Chicago's staff and an advisory board of publishing professionals, the Manual provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media.

  • Cite right: A Quick Guide to Citation Styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions, and More
    by Charles Lipson

    Thousands of students have turned to veteran teacher Charles Lipson for no-nonsense advice on how to cite sources properly--and avoid plagiarism--when writing their research papers. [2nd edition]

  • The Elements of Style
    by William Strunk, Jr. and E.B. White

    Every English-language writer knows Strunk and White’s famous little writing manual, The Elements of Style. Many people between the ages of seventeen and seventy can recite the book’s mantra--make every word tell--and still refer to their tattered grade school copy when in need of a hint on how to make a turn of phrase clearer, or a reminder on how to enliven prose with the active voice. Click here to see all copies/editions available at DCPL.

  • MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

    This 7th edition of the authoritative guide published by the Modern Language Association outlines how to document sources in a research paper using MLA style, for scholars and students at universities and secondary schools. It provides advice on all aspects of writing papers, from selecting a topic, the mechanics of writing, and plagiarism, to submitting the paper, abbreviations, and documenting a variety of sources.

  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

    The style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, the “Publication Manual” [6th edition] provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias.

Web Links