Subject Guide: Saving Money

Saving money doesn’t have to be painful. You can read newspapers and your favorite magazines at the library. If you are a cardholder with the DeKalb County Public Library System, you can borrow books, magazines, music, and DVDs at no cost.  Use our resources to learn how to prepare low-cost meals, do your own home repairs, fix your car, and exercise at home instead of at a pricey fitness club. Check out the list below and start saving money right now!

Last updated: June 16, 2015

Databases

  • Repair procedures for specific vehicles back to 1954, plus general car repair and troubleshooting tips. Also includes service bulletins and recalls, wiring diagrams, specifications, and maintenance intervals for many vehicles.

  • Small Engine Repair Reference Center offers assistance in providing routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.) as well as extensive repairs (engine and transmission disassembly) and allows users to search by product type, brand, model/engine type, specific area of model/engine type, and model numbers. PDF full text is available for all documents.

Catalog Links

  • Chef on a Shoestring

    You don’t have to break the bank to cook restaurant-quality meals. Here’s a sample of the more than 120 delicious and surprisingly economical recipes from America’s finest chefs. Contains advice on stocking your pantry, buying in season, shopping on a budget, and avoiding the temptation to be too frugal.

  • Eat Cheap But Eat Well
    by Charles Mattocks with Mary Hunt

    Appearing on TV as "The Poor Chef," Charles Mattocks has spent years demonstrating that it's possible to serve up healthy, tasty meals for only $7.00-or less. Now, in this practical cookbook, Charles collects the all-time best penny-pinching recipes from his television appearances.

  • Vegan on the Cheap
    by Robin Robertson

    Veteran food writer and vegan Robin Robertson provides 150  recipes that cost just 50 cents to $2 per serving-hefty savings to go with hearty vegan meals. This book presents great options for savory soups and stews, satisfying salads, hearty noodle dishes, first-class casseroles, favorites for the slow cooker, and meatless and dairy-free recipes for classics like pizza and burgers.

    Read more ...
  • Complete Photo Guide to Home Repair

    More than 2,300 color photographs and detailed step-by-step directions for common home repairs.

  • How Your House Works
    by Charlie Wing

    The more you understand how your home works, the easier it becomes to handle simple problems without paying a lot of money for repairs. Learn about the systems and appliances in your home, how to perform simple repairs, and when to call in a professional.

  • Ultimate Guide: Home Repair and Improvement

    This book comprises photos, drawings, and an understandable, practical text that covers your home top to bottom, inside and out. Readers will find plumbing and electrical repair, as well as information on heating and cooling, roofing and siding, and more. There is information about tools, materials, and basic skills. The Ultimate Guide to Home Repair & Improvement also includes a Remodeling Guide and a Resource Guide.

  • Clark Howard’s Living Large for the Long Haul
    by Clark Howard

    The renowned broadcaster examines our new paradigm through the eyes of those whose financial portfolios have beaten the odds, and those whose economic situation has gone off course. Through these fascinating personal accounts, readers uncover amazing opportunities and smart decisions, finding advantages in bleak times for lasting payoffs in the long run.

  • Don’t Throw it Out
    by Lori Baird and the editors of Yankee Magazine

    Make the most of your purchases (and your money) by making things last longer and work better. You’ll discover more than a thousand ways to maximize the value of everything you own, from furniture and fishing reels, to cell phones and ceiling fans, to iPods and earrings.

  • Refresh Your Home
    by the editors of The Family Handyman

    Need to revive old trim, or fix wobbly outlets? Instead of hiring expensive contractors and landscapers, this guide will take you step-by-step through a wide range of do-it-yourself ideas for your home, garage, and yard.

  • Dare to Repair Your Car
    by Julie Sussman andStephanie Glakas-Tenet

    A basic car care and safety book written by women for women ... and men, and new teen drivers, and senior drivers. Okay, it’s for every person who dares to drive a car.

  • Essential Car Care for Women
    by Jamie Little and Danielle McCormick

    ESPN NASCAR pit reporter Jamie Little and Discovery Channel "Turbo Expert" Danielle McCormick team up to offer advice women need to buy, sell, and care for their cars with confidence. With this handy guide, women will learn how to save themselves money by performing basic--but essential--maintenance tasks on their own.

    Read more ...
  • Popular Mechanics Complete Car Care Manual

    Contains more than 90 projects that will help car owners quiet squeaks, replace U-joints, and change their own oil and filters.

  • Eight Weeks to SEALFIT
    by Mark Divine

    With 8 Weeks to SEALFIT the athlete will: master the unbeatable mind; get the best workout available with the least amount of equipment; take a level-headed approach to nutrition; and develop exceptional overall functional strength, fitness, and mental toughness--the qualities that make a Navy SEAL.

  • Mari Winsor's Lower Body Pilates - DVD

    Mari Winsor brings 3 dynamic practices focused on areas of the body that her followers have asked for most: hips, thighs, and glutes. Mari's targeted workouts are guaranteed to lengthen, strengthen, and tone trouble areas.

  • More Daily Energy: Vinyasa Flow Yoga - DVD

    Features a set of seven practices that are twenty-minutes long in a flexible format with an even wider range of skill levels.

Web Links