Subject Guide: Film & Televison

There is a wide variety of material available on television and film. This subject guide focuses on books, databases and websites which cover a broad range of movies, programs, and the people associated with them. Particular attention has been given to classic films and TV shows.

Last updated: May 21, 2013

Databases

  • Biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history and around the world from reference books and journal articles, including Marquis Who's Who.

  • Access to: the Christian Science Monitor (1988-), Los Angeles Times (1985-), New York Times; Late Edition, East Coast (1980-), Wall Street Journal; Eastern Edition (1984-) and The Washington Post (1987-).  Coverage includes full-text articles but not advertisements, illustrations, or photographs. Also includes other newspapers.

Catalog Links

  • Encyclopedia of Television
    by Horace Newcomb, editor

    The Encyclopedia of Television, second edtion is the first major reference work to provide description, history, analysis, and information on more than 1100 subjects related to television in its international context.

  • Film Noir FAQ
    by David J. Hogan

    Film Noir FAQ celebrates and reappraises some 200 noir thrillers representing 20 years of Hollywood’s Golden Age. Film Noir FAQ brings lively attention to story, mood, themes, and technical detail, plus behind-the-scenes stories of the production of individual films. Featuring numerous stills and posters many never before published in book form highlighting key moments of great noir movies.

    Read more ...
  • Film-ol-o-gy: A Movie-a-Day Guide to a Complete Film Education
    by Chris Barsanti

    Film critic Chris Barsanti gives you the most entertaining crash course in good film in a book—one movie a day. Pairing cinema’s lesser-seen gems alongside blockbusters, great early works from the pioneers of film alongside often-overlooked films from great directors, Barsanti unveils the movies that all true cineastes must see—for everyone’s viewing pleasure. Filmology : So you can watch your way to an education in film!

  • Leonard Maltin's 151 Best Movies You've Never Seen
    by Leonard Maltin

    What 151 movies have you never seen—but should?

  • Nick at Nite's Classic TV Companion

    Brought to you by the ultimate authority on Our Television Heritage—here is the definitive entertaining reference to some of TV’s enduring classics. With a flip of the page, the inside scoop on America’s favorite TV sitcoms is at your fingertips. Nick at Nite’s Classic TV Companion offers capsule descriptions of every episode of The Mary Tyler Moore Show, The Dick Van Dyke Show, I Love Lucy, Bewitched, The Bob Newhart Show, I Dream of Jeannie, The Munsters, Taxi, and Welcome Back, Kotter.

    Read more ...
  • Television's Second Golden Age
    by Robert J. Thompson

    Thompson (coauthor of Prime Time, Prime Movers) argues that TV’s so-called Golden Age of the 1950s does not equal television of the ‘80s and early ‘90s. He gives a short history of every decade and shows how government and social climate affected the programs aired, as for example under the Kennedy administration, networks were scrutinized by the FCC.

    Read more ...
  • The Literary Filmography: 6,200 Adaptations of Books, Short Stories and Other Nondramatic Works
    by Leonard Mustazza

    A guide to English-language works that have been adapted as theatrical and television films, this volume includes books (both fiction and non-fiction), short stories, newspaper and magazine articles and poems. Entries are arranged alphabetically by literary title with cross-listings for films made under different titles. Each entry includes the original work’s title, author, year of first publication, literary prizes, and a brief plot summary.

    Read more ...
  • The Rock & Roll Film Encyclopedia
    by John Kenneth Muir

    The latest by Muir, author of numerous works on popular film, is a witty, riff-filled romp through rock- and popular music-related films, people, and genre conventions in post-1956 American and British cinema. Along with summaries of seminal rock films (both fictional and documentary), the book includes a category of entries on key rock/cinema figures (e.g., Elvis, Alice Cooper, Prince)

    Read more ...
  • The Women Who Made Television Funny
    by David C. Tucker

    Tucker celebrates the female stars of 1950s sitcoms. Each of ten chapters profiles a particular actress, focusing primarily on her television career while noting her achievements in other areas. Coverage includes such stars as Lucille Ball (I Love Lucy), Gracie Allen (The George Burns and Gracie Allen Show), Ann Jeffreys (Topper), and Betty White (Life With Elizabeth).

    Read more ...
  • VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever
    by Jim Craddock, editor

    Reviews movies that are available on DVD or tape. Each entry includes title, alternate title, one-to four-bone rating, year released, MPAA rating, brief review, length, format, country of origin, cast, technical personnel, awards and made-for-television/cable/video designations.

Web Links