Subject Guide: College Preparation

Worried about how to pick the right university, the right major and how to pay for it all?  Here are a few resources to help you out as you get ready to graduate high school and move on to the college of your dreams.  Many college-prep related books, DVDs or audiobooks in the Library are in the 371 or 378 call number range of the nonfiction section, including the LEA (Learning) and Y (Young Adult) collections.

Last updated: June 6, 2015

Databases

  • Job profiles, career exploration tools, and information on education and training programs with a focus on Georgia.

  • Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams based on official academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams. Includes preparation for the GED, SAT, GRE, U.S. Citizenship Test, and TOEFL.

  • A guide to education-related financial aid programs for students and professionals. Provides comprehensive information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies. Covers a variety of programs in all educational areas, including area and ethnic studies, business, computer science, education, liberal arts, medicine, physical sciences, theology and religion, and more. Intended for students and others interested in education funding.

Catalog Links

  • Accepted! 50 Successful College Admission Essays
    by Gen and Kelly Tanabe

    Your college admission essay is a critical ingredient to getting accepted. But do you know what colleges want? This book shows you with a step-by-step essay-writing workshop and over 50 successful essays.

  • The Best Value Colleges
    by Robert Franek, David Soto, Kristen O'Toole, and the staff of The Princeton Review

    Check out detailed profiles of one hundred fifty colleges and universities chosen as excellent values based on a variety of data points, including the institutions' academics, cost of attendance, and financial aid.

  • Financial Aid Smarts: Getting Money for School
    by Lisa McCormick

    This book covers financial aid basics and more--from the difference between subsidized and unsubsidized loans to information on how to seek out those hard-to-find scholarship options.

  • The Gay and Lesbian Guide to College Life: A Comprehensive Resource for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Students and Their Allies
    by John Baez, Jeffiner Howd, Rachel Pepper and the staff of the Princeton Review

    For all students, college is a time of exploration, a time to find oneself and come to grips with ones self-identity. Featuring real-life stories, this handbook addresses the specific challenges that lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender students face during their college years.

  • GED Test 2015: Strategies, Practice & Review

    This book provides strategies, practice, and review for all sections of the GED® Tests.

  • If the U Fits: Expert Advice on Finding the Right College and Getting Accepted
    by Kevin McMullin and Robert Franek

    Learn how to move beyond the question "What is the best college?" to "What is the best college 'for me'?" with strategies for completing applications, writing essays, and handling college interviews, as well as tips for maintaining sanity and perspective during the college application process.

  • Make the Grade: Everything You Need to Study Better, Stress Less, and Succeed in School
    by Lesley Schwartz

    Make the Grade includes timesaving techniques, confidence-boosting exercises, and creative ways to add new studying skills, plus checklists to help ensure you do everything you can to set yourself up for success.

  • McGraw-Hill Education ACT 2015
    by Steven W. Dulan and the faculty of Advantage Education

    With this book, you'll get skillbuilding techniques and strategies, including online help, 8 full-length practice tests, model ACT essays, hundreds of practice problems, and facts about the ACT exam.

  • The Other College Guide: A Roadmap to the Right School for You
    by Jane Sweetland, Paul Glastris and the staff of the Washington Monthly

    Inspired by and including the Washington Monthly magazine's signature alternative college rankings, this guide includes information on what to look for (and watch out for) in online programs and for-profit colleges and concludes with fifty profiles of frequently overlooked schools.

  • Panicked Student's Guide to Choosing a College Major: How to Confidently Pick Your Ideal Path
    by Laurence Shatkin.

    Need to declare a major right now? Dr. Laurence Shatkin guides you step-by-step through a self-evaluation and research process to help you confidently make the right college major decision.

  • SAT 2015-2016: Strategies, Practice & Review
    by the staff of Kaplan Test Prep and Admissions

    Filled with essential tools students need to prep for the exam this year, this guide also provides information -- including practice questions and detailed answer explanations -- about the new March 2016 SAT.

  • SAT Premier
    by the staff of Kaplan Test Prep and Admissions

    This SAT guide is filled with tools students need to prep for the exam this year, and it also provides information -- including practice questions and detailed answer explanations -- about the new SAT due out in March 2016.

  • Where You Go is Not Who You'll Be: An Antidote to the College Admissions Mania
    by Frank Bruni

    College admissions can be a terrifying and occasionally devastating process, preceded by test prep, tutors, all sorts of stratagems, all kinds of rankings, and a conviction among too many young people that their futures will be determined and their worth established by which schools say yes and which say no. Author Bruni explains why--and gives students and their parents a new perspective. What matters in the end are a student's efforts in and out of the classroom, not the gleam of his or her diploma.

Web Links