Subject Guide: Animals
If you are interested in learning about animals, DCPL can help. You can access our online databases or check out books in our branches for every level of interest. So, whether you are working on a report for school or want to know more about the interesting animals at Zoo Atlanta, check out the resources below. (Read about the Zoo Atlanta Family Pass program, a partnership with GPLS and Zoo Atlanta.) And, if you're browsing in the library, books on animals can be found in the 590-599 call number range.
Last updated: September 22, 2015
Photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other images include contemporary and historical photos of people, places and natural science.
Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction.
GALILEO's interface designed just for kids from Kindergarten through 5th grade.
Includes eight encyclopedias: Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, Amazing Animals of the World, and The New Book of Popular Science.
Reference documents, articles and dictionary entries covering the physical and applied sciences, literature, biography, history and social studies.
Animals smooth and spiky, fast and slow, hop and waddle through the two hundred plus pages of this Caldecott Honor artist Steve Jenkins's nonfiction offering. Sections such as "Animal Senses," "Animal Extremes," and "The Story of Life" burst with facts and infographics.
The wonders of the natural world are on display in The Animal Book. This guide to life on our planet is packed full of information about creatures big and small. It is organized according to scientific classification, with straightforward explanations of more than 1,500 specimens.
Featuring 2,500 species and packed with color photographs, animal facts, maps, and more, this animal encyclopedia provides authoritative information about the animal kingdom.
Written by renowned primatologist Jane Goodall, this book is an inspiring compilation of wildlife conservation success stories, collected during her extensive global travels. The author offers accounts of people and groups who have worked tirelessly to save several species on the brink of extinction.
This book introduces twelve mammals that were on the brink of extinction and made an amazing comeback. Facts about habitat and diet are included, along with the reasons why the species were threatened and the science behind the work that helped them survive.